January 22, 2018

The 2018 Student Ten-Minute Playwriting Festival judges: Dan Leary (left), Callie Donnelly (top right) and Es Swihart (bottom right)

Tickets are on sale for Theatre Odyssey’s 2018 Student Ten-Minute Playwriting Festival being held February 3–4, 2018, at the Jane B. Cook Theatre (FSU/Asolo Center for the Performing Arts).

The eight plays selected for the sixth annual festival will be judged by three theatre professionals: Dan Leary, a comedic actor based in southwestern Virginia who will also be performing at the 2018 SaraSolo Festival; Callie Donnelly, Middle/Upper Schools Performing Arts Director at Out-of-Door Academy; and Es Swihart, English and Acting teacher and sponsor of the Drama Club at Riverview High School, who was recently named Sarasota County 2018 Teacher of the Year.

The winning playwright will receive $1,000 and the runner-up will receive $500. These cash scholarships are generously provided by the Dorothy B. Templeton Scholarship Fund at the Community Foundation of Sarasota County.

The 2018 plays and playwrights are:

Awakening by Kassandra Haakman — Saint Stephen’s Episcopal School
Baker Act by Kaylee Hernandez — Sarasota High School
Psychosis by Ryan McKeever — Sarasota High School
The Quadrennial Bet by Spencer Emerson Opal-Levine — Pine View School
Too Many Cooks by Luke Valadie — Saint Stephen’s Episcopal School
Ugly Sweater by Erica Lomnitz — Sarasota High School
We Will Not Leave You in Peace by Courtney Zoller — Manatee High School
What Happened to My Dad? by Demetrius Davis — Saint Stephen’s Episcopal School

“We are thrilled that we have three theatre experts to adjudicate the eight original works for this year’s festival,” said Don Walker, Theatre Odyssey’s Board President. “And that, thanks to our first-ever partnership with the SaraSolo Festival, we will have one of their seasoned performers judging our competition.”

Tickets are: Adults: $12 — Students: $5
Click here to purchase tickets.

The 2018 Student Ten-Minute Playwriting Festival is supported in part by our Season Presenter, CAN Community Health, and the Dorothy B. Templeton Scholarship Fund at the Community Foundation of Sarasota County, Sarasota Scene Magazine, and WUSF Public Media.

Photo Gallery

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!